Brit Awards 2012 nominations announced


UK Today News: As the Grammy Awards fast approaches, the UK equivalent of the music awards ceremony, the Brit Awards, have also announced the nominations for the 2012 ceremony. British singer Ed Sheeran has received the maximum of four nominations , while Adele has got three nominations for Best British Single, British Female Solo Artist and Album of the Year.

The process of the choice of nominations is different from that of the Grammys. Based on the sales and airplay, 10 finalists of the British single of the year are automatically selected. The Brit Awards ceremony will take place on February 21, 2012 in London.

Here is the complete list of the 2012 Brit Awards Nominations.

British Female Solo Artist
Florence + the Machine
Jessie J
Kate Bush
Laura Marling

British Male Solo Artist
Ed Sheeran
James Blake
James Morrison
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds
Professor Green

British Group
Arctic Monkeys
Chase & Status

British Breakthrough Act
Anna Calvi
Ed Sheeran
Emeli Sandé
Jessie J
The Vaccines

British Single
Adele – ‘Someone Like You’
Ed Sheeran – ‘The A Team’
Example – ‘Changed The Way You Kissed Me’
Jessie J feat. B.o.B – ‘Price Tag’
JLS feat. Dev – ‘She Makes Me Wanna’
Military Wives & Gareth Malone – ‘Wherever You Are’
Olly Murs feat. Rizzle Kicks – ‘Heart Skips A Beat’
One Direction – ‘What Makes You Beautiful’
Pixie Lott – ‘All About Tonight’
The Wanted – ‘Glad You Came’

International Male Solo Artist
Aloe Blacc
Bon Iver
Bruno Mars
David Guetta
Ryan Adams

Mastercard British Album of the Year
Adele – ’21′
Coldplay – ‘Mylo Xyloto’
Ed Sheeran – ‘+’
Florence & The Machine – ‘Ceremonials’
PJ Harvey – ‘Let England Shake’

International Group
Fleet Foxes
Foo Fighters
Jay-Z & Kanye West
Lady Antebellum
Maroon 5

International Female Solo Artist
Lady Gaga

International Breakthrough Act
Aloe Blacc
Bon Iver
Foster The People
Lana Del Rey
Nicki Minaj

British Producer
Paul Epworth
Ethan Johns

Critics’ Choice
1st: Emeli Sande
2nd: Maverick Sabre
3rd: Michael Kiwanuka

Outstanding Contribution to Music Award
Winner: Blur